Best vegan brownies EVER!

When my husband and I started dating I had to learn how to bake without eggs because he doesn’t eat them.  It was fine for cookies and cakes but I could never get brownies to work.  They would come out as a mass of goo and not edible at all.  I have tried a number of different recipes and it wasn’t until I tried this recipe earlier this summer that I found one that worked.  This is the best vegan brownie recipe out there, chewy, chocolaty and easy to add to.  Make sure to coat the pan with a lot of oil or they will stick.

Vegan Brownies

Vegan Brownies

(Adapted from Vegweb

2 cup sugar

2 cup white flour

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp ground flax seed

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup canola or veg. oil

1 tsp vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 350*F and generously oil and 9×13″ pan.  Mix flax seed with water and set aside.  Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.  Add the oil, water with flax seed and vanilla.  Mix just until incorporated.  Spread in oiled pan and bake for 25-28 minutes.  The edges will look dry. 

If you want to add 1 cup of chocolate chips or nuts, go ahead!

One Response

  1. […] a little different so I decided to make them on top of brownies.  So I made a double batch of my Vegan Brownies and then topped them with a double batch of Peanut Butter Cup Bars.  I left out the graham […]

Leave a Reply

