Cannoli Ice Cream

Cannoli Ice Cream ConeI have been talking about making ice cream all summer but since I don’t own an ice cream maker it seemed like an impossible dream.  Then I discovered that my aunt has a fancy electric ice cream maker and was willing to share.  So I made plans, grand plans, full of big ideas and fancy add-ins.  Then I saw this recipe at One Ordinary Day and knew that it was the perfect way to begin my ice cream adventure.  This a ricotta ice cream with pistachios and mini chocolate chips and it taste just like a frozen cannoli!  And I should know since I lived in the North End of Boston for a year, which is as close as I will ever be to being Italian.  I simplified the recipe a little bit, took out the Grand Marnier and the lemon zest and used Vanilla Bean Paste  instead of extract.  I think this is my new favorite ice cream and I might try some different add-ins next time.  Hmmmm, maybe strawberries, or cannoli shell pieces….

Cannoli Ice Cream

Adapted from One Ordinary Day’s recipe

1 3/4 c. whole milk ricotta cheese

2/3 c. granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla bean paste

2/3 c. heavy cream

pinch of kosher salt

1/4 c. chopped pistachios, optional

1/4 c. mini chocolate chips, optional

In a food processor, combine the ricotta, lemon zest, sugar, vanilla bean paste, heavy cream and salt until well blended.  Pour into a container and cover.  Set in the refrigerator until thoroughly chilled.

Churn in your ice cream machine according to manufacturer’s directions, adding the chips and nuts during the last few minutes.  Place in a container in freezer until firm.  Makes one quart.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the link back to my blog. Is this amazing stuff or what? I love the idea of adding cannoli shell bits. My problem is not living any where near a cannoli anymore. It’s a bummer. I’d be eager to hear how it turns out with your other add-ins!
    ~Michelle

  2. Michelle,
    Thanks for the comment, I love your blog! This is the best ice cream, I can’t wait to try the cannoli shells, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

