The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes

I love getting new cookbooks.  I read them from cover to cover and then go through them again and mark all the recipes that I want to try.  I recently got The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes by Kris Holechek, author of www.nomnomnomblog.com.  After looking through it I had picked out quite a few recipes to try, as you can see here:

The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes

I am not vegan but I often buy vegan cookbooks because I don’t cook with eggs.  This book has some great looking recipes, most are pretty easy and are made with ingredients that are already in most kitchens.  The directions are simple and well written and the only complaint that I have is there are no pictures!

I decided to bake the Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies first.   I am a use-what-you-have baker and I don’t know if I have ever followed a recipe with out at least one substitution or subtraction.  So I used mini chocolate chips, walnuts instead of pecans and then I had just bought some White Wheat flour so I decided to try that in place of the All-Purpose Flour.  I also used real butter and milk.  All in all I thought this was a good recipe, the texture of the cookies is awesome, very chewy and not at all fragile.  I think next time I would increase the vanilla and maybe the salt.

Chocolate Chip Cookies Collage

Not Quite Vegan Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cornstarch

2 Tbsp. milk

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used mini)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350*F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (this was my first time using parchment paper and it is so worth it!)  In a bowl, mix the flour, baking soda and salt.  In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugars.  Dissolve cornstarch in milk and add to sugar mixture along with the vanilla.  Add flour mixture to sugar mixture in batches, then stir in the chocolate chips and walnuts.

Drop by heaping tablespoons on to baking sheet about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are slightly golden.  Let cool on baking sheet for five minutes and then move to cooling rack to finish cooling.  Makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

One Response

  1. Yay! Thanks for the review! Yes, I wish the book had pictures, too. Maybe I’ll get them in my second book. 🙂

    I’m glad you liked the cookies and I’m excited to hear about the gingerbread. All those spices baking- it’s intoxicating!

Leave a Reply

