My Grandmother’s Chocolate Cake

I think everyone has some version of this cake recipe.  I have heard it called Wacky Cake, Three Hole Cake and WWII Cake.  In my family it is No Nothing Cake, because you don’t have to know nothing to make it.  My Grandmother, Margaret, set this cake on the counter and covered with a tea towel so that when the men came in from doing the farm chores they could grab a piece.  I never saw her frost it, just top it with a sprinkle of confectioners sugar.  The recipe card that I use is the same one that she used and my mother remembers baking off of it when she was a child. 

Recipe Card

No Nothing Cake

Pre-heat oven to 350* F.  Sift together:

1 1/2 cups flour

3 Tbsp. cocoa powder

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

Add to that:

1 Tbsp. vinegar

6 Tbsp. oil

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup cold water

Mix just until incorporated and then pour in to 8×8 pan or 12 paper lined muffin cups and bake for 25-30 minutes.  I love to frost it with vanilla or cream cheese frosting and then top with coconut. 

This is my grandmother in the background on the farm steps with some lambs.

Grandmother's Chocolate CupCake

7 Responses

  1. oh boy oh boy oh boy, it will be trying this one next!

  2. Make that “I” will be trying this one next.

  3. […] Anyway, go check out her blog.  The recipes are delish.  Tomorrow I will be attempting the No Nuthin’ Cake. […]

  4. emma, love the old worn recipe card and the pic of margaret with the lambs! nice touches. the chocolate combo with coconut frosting sounds amazing!

  5. Well, my response is delayed, but I made your gramma’s cake for my daughter’s third birthday party. I made it two layered so I doubled it. Well, actually, I just made it twice because I wasn’t paying attention until I poured it into the pan and realized it was only going to be one layer. So, the next day I made the second layer.

    EVERYONE. No joke. EVERYONE loved it and complimented me on it. I have never had that response from any of my baking other than bread. So, the recipe is officially part of the family.

    Here’s a link to the cake. My mom posted the photo on her site.

    http://www.profsharon.net/eating/birthdays/

Leave a Reply

