Nothing says love like homemade Granola

Here on the farm we are in full Fall mode.  The pumpkins are for sale and you can see them peeking through the leaves out in the fields.  The geese are landing across the river and the corn fields have been mowed down to stubble.  I love this time of year where we have warm breezy days and cool nights perfect for sleeping.  I start baking more hearty things now and one of my favorites is granola.  My Mother-in-Law, Cathy gave me her recipe for granola when my husband and I first started going out.  I have made a few changes but the recipe started out so good there wasn’t much that I had to tweak.

Homemade Granola

Granola

1/2 cup Agave (you can substitute either honey or maple syrup but I love the mellow flavor of agave in this recipe)

1/2 cup oil

1 Tbsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup wheat germ

2 cups coconut (either sweetened or unsweetened works)

6 cups rolled oats

1 1/2 cups mixed nuts (I like half sliced almonds and half walnuts but use what you have)

Pre-heat oven to 350*F.  In a large dutch oven heat the agave, oil and vanilla until thin.  Turn off the heat and add the remaining ingredients in order given, mixing well after each addition.  Put in oven for 15 minutes, stir, return to oven and stir every ten minutes until lightly toasted.  I have the granola in the oven for a total of 35 minutes but leave in longer if you like crunchier granola.  Let cool completely before storing.  Make about 12 cups.

This is one of my entries in Madhuram’s Whole Grain Eggless Baking Event – Oats

5 Responses

  1. You can use agave to make granola?! Wahoo! Off I go to bake…but first I have a question about it since I’ve never made granola:

    If I were to take out the coconut and possibly the wheat germ as well…what would you put in its place? Can I use dried fruit instead? Like blueberries or pineapple or cranberries?

    • SerahRose, the agave is awesome in the granola! You can make all sorts of substitutions in granola. If you use dried fruit don’t add it until after you have baked the rest. My MIL would use something called soy grits that you can get at the health food store, you could use that instead of the wheat germ. You could also try puffed rice or corn. Let me know what you come up with, I bet it will be delicious.

  2. Wow! This can be the entry for my Whole Grains – Oats, the theme for this month’s event.

  3. Emma, kindly link to the event announcement here to be included in the round up. Thanks.

  4. […] Quick BreadsOthers >> Others Saritha's Oatmeal and Apple Cake Emma's Vegan Homemade Granola Priya's Oats and Veggie Patties Sadhana & Muskaan's Vegan Brown Rice Patties Shanthi's Oats […]

Leave a Reply

