Blueberry Slump with Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

My parents were cleaning out the freezer last weekend and found a bunch of wild Maine blueberries that we had forgotten were in there.  When I say a bunch I mean it too, there must be 15 quart bags of berries.  I figured I better get baking quick!  So first off I made my grandmother’s Blueberry Slump.  What is a slump?  I checked Wikipedia but couldn’t find it so I went to the Food Dictionary at epicurious and found this definition:

slump An old-fashioned New England dessert of fruit, usually berries, topped with biscuit dough and stewed until the biscuit topping is cooked through. Also called grunt .

It is a very easy dessert, the most time is spent on making the biscuit dough.   You can use fresh or frozen blueberries and serve it with whip cream or ice cream.  The typical thing to serve it with is vanilla ice cream but in my family we love it with coffee ice cream.  I have been wanting to try making some soy ice cream in my new ice cream maker (yes, I finally broke down and bought one on eBay.)  I read a bunch of recipes online and decided to try my hand at it.  Most of them are based on either tofu or soy yogurt and I started mine with the recipe found here.  It came out pretty good, creamy and strong coffee flavor.  I think I will try a yogurt based ice cream next to see if there is a texture difference.

It is supposed to be cold here in New Hampshire the next couple of days so dig out your frozen blueberries and make some nice hot slump!  I promise it tastes better than the name implies.

Blueberry Slump

Blueberry Slump

2 quarts blueberries

2-4 Tbsp. Sweetener of your choice, I used 2 Tbsp of Agave but sugar, maple syrup or even Splenda would work.

Stew blueberries down until they have all popped and are boiling.  If they seems like them might stick you can add a Tbsp or two of water in the bottom of the pan.

2 cups all-purpose or white wheat flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 Tbsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

6 Tbsp. butter or margarine

1 cup milk or soy milk

Sift together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt.  Cut in the butter or margarine until the crumbs are the size of peas.  Quickly mix in the milk until the dough just holds together.  Spoon the dough on top of the boiling berries in large spoonfuls, depending on the size of your pot you might not be able to fit all the dough in, I was left with one spoonful that didn’t fit.  Cover the pan and set the heat to low, cook for 10 minutes.  Uncover the pan and cook for 10 more minutes.  Take off the heat and let cool for a few minutes before serving.  Serves 6-8.

Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

1 box Mori-Nu Firm Silken Tofu

1 cup soy creamer

1/3 cup agave

1 tsp. vanilla

2 Tbsp. instant coffee

Mix all ingredients in a blender.  Freeze according to you ice cream makers directions.  Makes 1 quart.

One Response

  1. Ooh yum! I could go for some blueberry slump, right about now!

Leave a Reply

