Foodie Fight: Mexican Brownie Sundae

I was chosen to participate in this weeks Foodie Fight and the secret ingredients were Black Beans and Coconut.  I love both of these ingredients and was so excited to get started.  Of course I wanted to make a dessert and since I have heard about brownies made using Black Beans I figured that would be a good place to start.  After searching the internets, I tried one of the recipes but it was pretty bad, kind of like chocolate flavored banana bread but with a weird waxy texture.  So I decided to try to adapt my vegan brownie recipe.  I added some cinnamon and cayenne to the batter to give it a little kick and after a batch where I forgot the sugar (whoops!) I had a great recipe.

Next I wanted to top the brownie with a coconut ice cream.  I have not opened a fresh coconut since I was a little kid so I had no idea what I was doing.  After watching a really helpful video online, I took my knife and banged away until I opened my coconuts.  It took a while to get the meat out of the shell but it was was easier than I thought it would be and pretty fun overall.  I even managed not to stab or bash any of my fingers!   I made my own coconut milk, with actual milk and not water and then just added some sugar and froze it.  The first batch was good but not coco-nutty enough so I made it again with some coconut extract and it was perfect although kind of fluffy from all the coconut.

I figured that it would not be a real sundae with out a sauce so I mixed up a quick coffee chocolate sauce for the finishing touch.  The coffee gave it a nice bitter flavor that went really well with the sweetness of the ice cream and the heat of the brownies.

All together this is a amazing sundae if I do say so myself.  It is spicy and sweet, warm and cold, chewy and creamy, just perfect.  The brownie is a little too spicy for me on it’s own so if you are going to make just that part you might want to cut the cayenne in half.

Coconut Brownie Sundae

Mexican Brownies

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cayenne

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup water

1 Tbsp ground flax seed

1 can black bean, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup oil

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Pre-heat the oven to 350*F.  Line a 8×8 pan with tin foil and grease lightly.  Mix together the flax seed and water in the bowl of a food processor, let sit.  Sift together in a large bowl the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, cinnamon, cayenne and salt.  Add the beans, oil and vanilla to the flax mixture and puree until smooth.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just blended.  Pour in to the pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, the middle will be set but you will have a few crumbs on a toothpick stuck in the center.  Serve warm.  Makes 9 brownies.

Coconut Ice Cream

Meat from half a coconut

2 cups whole milk

3/4 cup sugar

pinch of salt

1 tsp coconut extract

Mix the coconut and half the milk in a blender until the coconut is in very small pieces.  Add the rest of the milk, the sugar, salt and coconut extract and blend for 30 seconds.  Let chill overnight or at least four hours.  Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the directions.  Serve soft right out of the maker or chill for a few hours for hard ice cream.  Makes 1 quart.

Coffee Chocolate Sauce

1 cup chocolate chips

1 Tbsp instant coffee

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds.  Mix the coffee in with the milk and heat until warm then add to the melted chocolate.  Stir until smooth and then add the vanilla.  Makes 1 1/2 cups.

Mexican Brownie SundaeMexican Brownie Sundae

Warm your brownie in the microwave for a few seconds, unless it is still warm from baking.  Top with a generous scoop of coconut ice cream and a drizzle of warm coffee chocolate sauce.  Enjoy immediately!

Time to vote!  Please check out everyone’s entry before voting.  http://www.foodiefights.com/

4 Responses

  1. Looks good! I was going to try a brownie recipe too since I saw one online that looked promising, try and slip my husband and son the non-veggie eaters a little something good for them . . . I will have to try your “non-wax” recipe! Good luck with Foodie Fights.

  2. I too was thinking of making brownies but decided to do something different. These however look very very yummy and I like that you turned it into a sundae 🙂 I’ll definitely have to try these sometime!

  3. Wow, that sounds fabulous! Love cayenne and chocolate.

  4. Thank you for sharing the information. I found the information very helpful.

Leave a Reply

