Cran-Oat Cookies

Congrats! to Marillyn over at Just Making Noise for her win in the Foodie Fight battle.  I had such fun making up my recipe and hope that I get to fight again.

I went to Target last week and one of the many things that jumped into my cart was a cookie scoop.  I had wanted one of these handy utensils for a while now and  I decided to make some Oatmeal Cookies with cranberries to celebrate.  I started with the recipe on the Quaker Oat box and then did some modifications to make it vegan.  They came out great, very chewy and soft with a nice cinnamon flavor.  The cranberries are great in oatmeal cookies, they add a nice tartness that raisins don’t have.

Cran-Oat Cookies

Cran-Oat Cookies

1 cup margarine

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup agave or natural sugar (I used agave)

1/4 cup applesauce

1 Tbsp ground flax seed

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup white wheat or all-purpose flour

1/2 cup wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups oats (quick or old fashioned, NOT instant)

1 cup Craisins

Pre-heat oven to 350*F.  Cream together the margarine and sugars.  Mix in the applesauce, flax and vanilla.  Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.  Add the oatmeal and the Craisins and stir to combined.  Drop rounded tablespoon fulls (or a handy cookies scoops worth) on to an ungreased cookie sheet (I like to use parchment paper on my cookie sheet) and bake for 14-15 minutes, or just golden brown on top.  Cool on pan for 2 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack and cool completely.  Makes 3 dozen cookies.

This is one of my entries in Madhuram’s Whole Grain Eggless Baking Event – Oats

6 Responses

  1. I too love the combination of oats and cranberries. Those are some wonderful cookies. Thank you very much for participating in the event.

  2. I need to try these!

  3. […] >> Cookies Emma's Vegan Oatmeal and Craisin Cookies Emma's Vegan Oatmeal Drizzles Lata's Oatmeal, Apple and Raisin Cookies Priya's Quick Oatmeal […]

  4. YUM. I am totally putting these on my “cookies to bake” list! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Okay, Luisa made them and they were fabulous!

  6. I also wanted to mention that we used sugar and not agave, and we didn’t have a problem with them sticking together. Also…we’re making them for the sweater party as one of Luisa’s friends was inspired to try veganism for a week.

Leave a Reply

