Soft Molasses Cookies

So my husband, David, hardly ever bakes.  He is an excellent cook but a bit of an innovator and that can be dangerous when you bake.  Luckily for me he decided to make cookies the other day and I was introduced to an excellent new recipe.  I love Molasses cookies in the fall and these are spectacular.  They are chewy and yet still soft with a spicy hit that lasts on your tongue.  If you like ginger these cookies are for you.  They are a little bit like Gingersnaps or Gingerbread cookies but softer.  We finished off the batch that David made in less than a day and then I made a batch that only lasted a day.  I guess I will wait a few days before I make them again…or maybe not!

Soft Molasses Cookies

Soft Molasses Cookies

Adapted from allRecipes.com

2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup margarine

1 cup white sugar

1 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 3 Tbsp water (or 1 egg and 1 Tbsp water)

1/3 cup molasses

Sugar for rolling

Pre-heat oven to 350*F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Sift together the flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves and salt.  Beat margarine and sugar until fluffy, add egg replacer and molasses and beat well.  Add dry ingredients to molasses mixture and mix well.  Shape dough in to walnut size balls (I used my new cookie scoop!) and roll in sugar.  Place cookies two inches apart on baking sheets and flatten slightly.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until puffed and cracked.  Cool on baking sheet for five minutes and then move to rack to cool completely.  Store (if you don’t eat them all) in an air tight container.  Make 2 dozen.

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been wanting to post & report that these cookies keep really well! We know this because my husband made a batch the evening I was in labor with my new baby girl! I didn’t have much appetite, & then we were away from home having the baby for the next day & night… when we were finally home again, I started eating cookies & boy, were they good! They kept really well in a Tupperware, and a few seconds in the microwave brought back some warmth and chewiness – soooo good with a glass of milk. I think they’d be great travel or gift cookies, because they keep well.

Leave a Reply

